Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Gabriela V

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 4, 2011

“Well~ I’m 18 :3 I have one dog and four birds. I’m a college freshman at the moment and I want to be a kindergarten teacher in the future ^-^ I also love ramen, hot chips in the freezer..(don’t ask) and anime (HETALIA~ and kuro kuro :3) and…smiley faces o-o…and my inkie darlings.

“I also love my made up words/sounds. osh, nii, meep, chu, etc.

“I live by Chicago.

“I’m going to Italy this summer 😀 by myself.

“And I have a real life Wrecked crew.

“Wow, none of that was interesting x3.”

Though Gaby (aka Gabriela V) may feel that what she has to offer isn’t interesting, inkpoppers certainly think differently. Not only is Gaby currently ranked as # 19 on the Top Trendsetters list; her project Wrecked is sitting pretty at # 62, and drawing in new readers on a daily basis – an accomplishment that thrills Gaby further on a daily basis.

Your project Wrecked is currently ranked as # 62. How does it feel to be so close to breaking through the Top 50 and making it into the Top 5? What is currently going through your mind?

Gabriela V: I’m amazed. I didn’t expect people to actually like Wrecked…I’m just grateful people are giving it a look :3 and I haven’t even swapped o-o, so I’m even more grateful. I’m also nervous; H.C is really getting serious when commenting the top five’s work. Osh.

It’s a good nervous :3

Wrecked is very unique in that it deals with fictional characters playing fictional characters (meaning: your characters also take on roles of other people within the book due to the fact that they are actors on a hit TV show) – something that is not often seen in YA fiction. Do you feel that this originality on your part is one of the things which has made Wrecked such a popular project on inkpop?

Gabriela V: Yes, I do. I kind of feel like Wrecked is a mix of things we, as a generation of teens becoming adults, want to see in the YA world. I wanted to give people something very possible. Maybe there’s a gay actor out there who’s confused about life. Or just a regular boy or girl who’s confused about who they are. Like Nate. Or a sweet girl or boy out there who wants people to look at her/him as a person and not as large numbers on a weight scale. Like Kathy.

That’s why I think Wrecked is doing so well with the inkpop community.

Can you tell us a bit about the creative process for Wrecked?

Gabriela V: I got the idea from missing certain shows, like Degrassi, and wishing they’d come back. When I start to get a feel for a plotline, I usually get a character right out of that. Nathan Placencia was born shortly after :3 and as odd as it sounds, he came ready to work and grow up and stand out amongst many MC’s out there.

But I have to admit, if Nate wasn’t ‘born’, there would be no Wrecked. Actually, if there was no Nate or Kathy or the Wrecked crew (born from my real life Casa crew :3) then there wouldn’t have been a Wrecked at all.

What do you feel influences your writing and why?

Gabriela V: Everything does, really. My mood, my friends, my family. Right now, the thing that influences me the most are new experiences in my own life time and the fact that I want people to look past orientation and stereotypical expectations to get to the heart of the ‘growing up’ process.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

Gabriela V: I’m not exactly sure…inkies say I’m good at creating characters that they’re convinced are alive somewhere. But at the same time, I’m kind of a jack of all trades in the sense that my writing style changes when I’m working on different projects at the same time.

Who is your favorite character(s) in any of your work and why?

Gabriela V: Don’t make me chose;–;

I think we all know that I love Nate, Kathy, Michelle, and Gray. But not a lot of people know that my heart and soul goes to Ellen. I can’t tell you why without spoiling Wrecked and its sequel (oh yeah, I said it~), but I love her so much.

What’s on your spring reading list?

Gabriela V: Gone – yes, Nella, I’m reading Gone x3 – by Michael Grant; The rest of the Rainbow Boys series – by Alex Sanchez; The Dead and the Gone – Susan Pfeffer; Bright Young Things – Anna Godbersen; The list goes on and on :3

What made you fall in love with writing?

Gabriela V: It’s more like ‘what forced you to love writing’ x3 Since I was little I always had a wild imagination and a drive to open up someone’s eyes, so I found writing to be my outlet. Ya know, now that I can’t run around in a make-shift cape/towel x3

What was your favorite childhood book and why?

Gabriela V: The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. It was the first book I ever read by myself.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite song? I dun have one! ;–; I’m very fickle when it comes to music. Atm, I am enjoying Oh land – Lean and Mj’s – Hollywood Tonight.
What’s on your iPod? I don’t have an iPod ;–; …dun mock me x3
MP3~
I have everything. From Korean pop, to vocaloid music, anime music, indie music, Spanish music. I should be more specific… deadmau5? o.o? lol fail v.v
Hunger Games: Gale or Peeta? Pfft, FINNICK ;–;
Pancakes or waffles? Waffles :3
You’re stranded on a desert island, what five books do you take with you?
I’m warning you now, they’re inkpop books.
1. When the Dead Walk We Run
2. Murphy and Me
3. Fading Broken Dreams
4. Falling
5. Naïve
Published books are starting to not cut it for me :3

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

17 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Gabriela V”

  1. Nella said

    Great job Gabby! ❤
    ;D you know you just want to be on a deserted island with Peter.

    And yay you're reading Gone, mwuahahahaha.

  2. Beaver said

    YAY GABS. 😀
    I approve of Finnick.
    But Gale all the way!

  3. Lithiawood said

    SPEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!
    (hows that for a made-up noise?) 😀

    GO GABBS!! ❤

  4. Wildgreenskittle said

    WOOT for Gabs!! ^_^
    And I loved The Dead and the Gone 😀

  5. Lexie said

    MOMMY!
    -huggles-
    You should’ve been inkie of the week long ago. >:c
    And PFFF, I love Gone too~ Nella and I have fangirled over it.
    Wuv you. ❤

    • gaby said

      -Clings-
      Meh, im just happy i had a chance :3

      oh chu silly fangirls~ ill probably be joining you soon x3
      ❤ chu~

      and gracias guys :3

  6. !nspired said

    Gabbers! Yay! You totally deserve this.(:

  7. Becca said

    O.O
    O.O
    SDGKJHERGIOERGHOPEQPOHJHPORTJHOP4JOPGJEIOPJQOIVQRHVUOHSIOUDH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That was my reaction to seeing you on inkpoper of the week. I did a dance, Gabs a dance.

    What is this gone that Nella speaks of? O.o

    WTDWWR O.O
    *faints into her chair*

    APPROVAL GRANTED OF THE HIGEST OF THIS AMAZING INTERVIEW.

    Oh, I want to finsih WTDWWR this week. I might pull a Hannah O.O

  8. itsnotkatie said

    It popped up on my Facebook saying “New Inkpopper of the week is Gabriela V” and I was like “Oh, hey. I know her.” x)
    Congrats!!!!

  9. Jesse said

    GABS!
    AAAAHHHH *hug tackles* congrats on being IOTW!!!! you totally deserve it, and now we got to see your face! XD ^.^
    <3, me 🙂

  10. brokenbone said

    FINNICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

 
