Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

The First inkpop Author Gets Her Books (And You Can Too)!

Posted by inkpopbecki on April 8, 2011

The First inkpop Author Gets Her Books (And You Can Too)!

Alright maybe not the book, but last Thursday author Leigh Fallon received her box of ARCs. What are ARCs you ask? Good question. ARC stands for Advance Reader Copy. These are promotional copies given to reviewers and sales to show people what a great book The Carrier of the Mark is before we have final copies. Now you maybe saying what’s the difference between a final copy and an ARC, they look almost exactly alike. ARCs use the first pass page proofs–which are designed pages that still need some copy editing before considered final–to show off the book. So there maybe so big old typos in there, but don’t worry, the ARC clearly warns you on the cover.

See:

-

Check out the video of Leigh receiving her ARCs:

 

 

Want an ARC of The Carrier of the Mark? Do one of the following things: Retweet the link for Leigh’s video (and @inkpop), post it on your Facebook and then show us on the inkpop Facebook fan page, or repost the video on your blog and post a link here in the comments so that we can see. Three lucky winners will be chosen at random to receive their own ARC of The Carrier of the Mark.

25 Responses to “The First inkpop Author Gets Her Books (And You Can Too)!”

  1. Tracy Michelle said

    Cool.

  2. When does this contest close? I’m going to be running an interview with Leigh on my blog on Monday, so I hope that counts. I’ll leave a link whenever the post is up.

    Do we get extra entries if we do the other things? B/c I REALLY want an ARC. I promise to review it if I do get it! πŸ™‚

  3. Tracy Michelle said

    I shared the link on facebook and tagged the inkpop facebook page when I did but it is not showing up on the inkpop facebook page like it should.

  4. Ceffyl dwfr said

    http://seductionofalientears.blogspot.com/2011/04/hopefully-one-day-this-can-be-me.html

  5. HobbotFeet said

    I actually have an ARC of a book named The Adoration of Jenna Fox. It’s a long story but I did legally obtain it. They are extremely similar to the finished copy, but you may notice little typos here and there occasionally. It’s basically a 99% perfect version.

    It’s really cool that this book is getting published. I’ll be sure to read it when it comes out.

    • HobbitFeet said

      Shoot, I did a little typo there. My name is HobbitFeet, no O. Sorry about that.

      • HobbitFeet said

        I have an ARC of a book named The Adoration of Jenna Fox. It’s a long story but I did legally obtain it. They’re basically 99% perfect copies of the finished product.

        It’s really cool that this is getting published. I’ll be sure to read it when it comes out.

      • HobbitFeet said

        This made a huge error in posting my comment on this blog. I initially posted a comment with a misspelled name, hence why I corrected it. But the correction replaced my post instead of posting under it. I then posted my comment again, but instead of being a reply, it posted as its own thing. Can this error please get corrected? This was very inconvenient.

  6. Willow Michelle said

    AAAA congratulations Leigh, I’m so happy for you! I remember swapping reads back in the day. <3333 Congratulations, girl!

  7. Ashley Nicole said

    I posted the video on my blog. I’d love to win an ARC πŸ˜€
    I think it’s so cool and exciting. Leigh must be so proud; she did a great job writing and promoting and whatnot πŸ™‚ Below is the link to my blog if you’d like to see my post about the video.

    http://ashleycnicole.blogspot.com/2011/04/well-gosh-darnit-what-in-world-is-arc.html

  8. Alexia said

    http://alexiasmith.tumblr.com/

    Done πŸ˜€

  9. Claudine San Miguel said

    Thank you for the chance to win one of Leigh Fallon’s ARC! It would be an honor to have a copy. πŸ™‚

    http://littlemsbookish.tumblr.com/post/4450662113/leighfallon

  10. brokenbone said

    http://wearcapefly.blogspot.com/2011/04/arcs.html

    Seeing her get her ARCs just makes ME want to get ARCs for my own book…But that’s WAAAAY at the bottom of my to do list. xD “Finish book” is at the top.

  11. Scarlet said

    http://blindedspeechless.tumblr.com/post/4454208727/check-out-the-arcs-for-the-carrier-of-the-mark-by

    Done!

    Congratulations Leigh! πŸ™‚

  12. Krystal said

    http://misskrys.org/blog/2011/04/08/the-carrier-of-the-mark-by-leigh-fallon/

    There’s my entry! I hope I get to win! The book isn’t usually something I’d read, but I’m very open to whatever kind of books. The story sounds promising. I’d love to read and review it. πŸ™‚

  13. Theodora said

    I’m finished with my tweets!
    https://twitter.com/#!/SerendipinLove

    Thank you for the giveaways.

  14. I shared the video on my blog:

    http://www.bookscompleteme.com/2011/04/leah-fallon-receives-her-arcs.html

    Thank you!

    Cindy

  15. Marisa said

    I shared Leigh’s video on my blog.

    http://thewritingdancer.blogspot.com/2011/04/is-it-weird-how-excited-i-get-seeing_09.html

    Thank you so much for the chance to win a CARRIER ARC!

  16. Alexa said

    I tweeted the video, and I posted the video on my blog.
    http://naruhina-postcard.blogspot.com/2011/04/video-leigh-fallon-carrier-of-mark.html

    Btw, awesome giveaway! Thanks! πŸ™‚

  17. […] Inkpop book! Then you’ll be even more ecstatic to learn that you can win an ARC of the book here. Just enter by April […]

  18. I tweeted (@MostImportantL), posted it on FB (Most Important Letter), and posted it on my blog: http://mostimportantletter.wordpress.com/2011/04/09/contest-roundup-9/

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I want THE CARRIER OF THE MARK so badly!

  19. Jay said

    Done! i Tweeted the link of the video πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
