Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: KDBDanielle

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 11, 2011

“I’m a fifteen year old Floridan who doesn’t get her daily dose of sun. I actually avoid it to be honest.

“My town is a pretty decent size. You’ve most likely turned into the exit on your way to the beach, but forgot all about it because it lacks palm trees and eye-catching attractions.

“Just recently I learned that giraffes could run. Don’t ask why I thought they couldn’t. I’ve been called cute, funny and a traffic light (I’m 5’10). Being the eldest in my family has made me have a motherly instinct. Though I look athletic I’m not. Give me a ball to kick or shoot and I get flustered. When I’m not writing or scanning the pages of inkpop I’m trying to reach the highest level on my dad’s treadmill without falling off, munching on Whales (not real ones of course), doing my latch-hook (bet you have no clue what that is), reading what I can get my hands on, trying to find a movie in Netflix’s stock, having Bible study, and cleaning because I’m a neat freak.”

inkpoppers certainly don’t seem to mind that Kiana (aka KDBDanielle) is anything but athletic. Why? Because her lack of interest in outdoors activities has given her more time to devote to her writing projects – specifically the wildly popular Match-Up Set, which made it into inkpop’s Top Five back in December of 2010.

Your project Match-Up Set is hugely popular, and made it into the December 2010 inkpop Top Five. That said, it is still listed as being incomplete…are you still working on this project; are you taking a breather from it, and working on something new; or do you feel that Match-Up Set will be a constant work in process?

KDBDanielle: I’m taking a break from it. The review I received was incredibly helpful and brought so many things to my attention. It also brought tons of new ideas. I decided to put things on hold for a bit and work on other projects until I’m ready to again dedicate all my focus on Match-Up Set.

In your profile you state…“I’m homeschooled and that explains why I have two homeschooled projects. ‘Match-Up Set’ and one that’s not posted…. it plays a big role in my life so I can’t help, but write about it. :)” Do you feel that homeschooling will forever be a part of your writing projects? In your opinion, has homeschooling given you the ability to devote more time to your writing; thus, becoming a focal point in your projects?

KDBDanielle: No, I don’t think it’ll forever be apart of my writing projects. It’s something I know very well so it’s easy to write. Homeschooling has given me the chance to devote more time to writing. Like right now. I should probably be getting ready for math, but I’m here. 🙂 So yes, that’s why it’s the focal point of my projects.

Aside from Stephanie S. Tolan’s Surviving the Applewhites, not much YA literature discusses homeschooling. As many inkpoppers are homeschooled, do you feel that this is one of the aspects of your work that draws readers in – why or why not?

KDBDanielle: Yes, I do think that’s what draws in the readers. It’s one thing to be the new kid and it’s another to be the previously homeschooled new kid. It has people ask questions like: How are they going to react to being around kids their age more often? How are others going to react to them being unaware of how things work in school?

What do you feel influences your writing and why?

KDBDanielle: Random clips of conversations and photos. I like to pay attention to everything around me. How people react to statements made. How they stand when excited or nervous. It’s an easy way to get inspiration.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

KDBDanielle: I like writing about things I feel that’s been untouched.

You mention in your profile that you have another project that you are working on that is not posted on inkpop. Can you tell us a bit about this project (genre, what’s it about, etc.)? Do you plan on posting it on inkpop in the near future?

KDBDanielle: It’s called What We Were. This project is the first I’ve written that’s totally in the POV of a guy (I switched POVs in another project called After the End). My main character is very self-righteous. He enters a relationship with a girl for all the wrong reasons. I can’t say what happens after that since I haven’t planned or outlined anything like I normally do. I want to post sometime in April so keep an eye out!

How do you combat writer’s block? Do you have any tips for beating out writer’s block that you’d like to share with us?

KDBDanielle: I like to take a break from writing altogether if I find I’m stuck. If you find yourself stuck I’d advise to go outside and far away from your computer as possible. Pay attention to everything and everyone around you. Read poetry or books that are the same genre as your own project.

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

KDBDanielle: Valerie from Red Riding Hood. You have to admit, that little village would be an awesome place to live. Creepy, but awesome.

What do you think makes good writing?

KDBDanielle: Well-written characters. It doesn’t matter how original your plot is if you have flat characters. A reader will close the book the second they realize they don’t care what happens to them.

What’s on your spring reading list?

KDBDanielle: Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, Emma by Jane Austen, Plague by Micheal Grant (seems like I’ve been waiting forever for this one!), The Scorch Trials by James Dashner, and Cloaked by Alex Finn.

What made you fall in love with writing?

KDBDanielle: The fact that I couldn’t do “wrong.” I’m the kind of person that stresses on getting things to look exactly like its picture. With writing there’s no right or wrong way necessarily.

Who was your favorite childhood author and why?

KDBDanielle: Adrian Fogelin. Her books were the first to hinder me from eating dinner on time.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite fictional character? I have many, but today it’s Sam from Gone by Michael Grant.
What’s on your iPod? Taylor Swift, Paramore, August Rush soundtrack, Mozart, B.o.b, and Bruno Mars.
Hidden talent? I could hula-hoop forever.
Favorite ice cream flavor? Vanilla with Snickers in it. I forgot what they called the flavor, but I’m guessing somewhere along the lines of vanilla-with-snickers. 😉
Book you could read over and over again? The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

5 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: KDBDanielle”

  1. Jesse said

    Danny!!!!
    Congrats! That was an awesome interview – can’t wait for your new book!
    And i love your quote about how you can’t go ‘wrong’ in writing. So true!
    ^_^

  2. Darci said

    Ha, I used to latch-hook. I forget how now… ^.^

  3. Beaver said

    Eeeek, Kiana! You totally deserve this, and awesome interview!

  4. WereWolfe said

    Yay for Floridians who hate the sun! *Highfives* XD
    AND for homeschooling. *Highfives again* ^-^

  5. Danielle said

    Aw, thanks guy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
