Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: sakira

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 25, 2011

“I’m a senior high school student living in a suburban town down in the South. No, I don’t know anyone who rides horses to school, contrary to popular belief (though I do see cattle grazing outside the school); I love country music, and I say y’all. I have the fortune of knowing two awesome inkpoppers in person. My best guy friend is my brother Austin (Emperor Zar). My best girl friend is Alice (Summer Angel).

“I enjoy going out and communing with Nature while walking on the trails with my brother and the dogs. I also love to blog, take (very amateur) photos, play DDR, and read and write and read and write. I can talk forever about books and animanga. My two favorite classes are French and English.

“I love to cozy up with a good book. Laugh, cry, and sigh over it, and then sit for a while as I relive the story all over again. I’m the kind of person who thinks a lot, mulls over her thoughts, and rarely shares unless asked about them. But when you get me going, you’ll get me going going. My mom’s forever telling me to stop talking about books, stop reading books, stop breathing the essence of books, and to just do my homework.

“I have some very… interesting pets. One dog thinks he’s king; the other thinks he’s human (and wants pets of his own). My chinchilla likes to climb on his cage walls like a monkey. My mouse opens her cage lid at night, and I could almost swear she goes out on midnight adventures. I have yet to prove it.”

One thing that Kris (aka sakira) has most certainly proven via her writing is that one of her favorite quotes by Albert Einstein, which states “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere” is more fact than fiction – as her popular project Phenomenally, the product of pure imagination, will show you.

Your project Phenomenally is currently ranked as # 14. How does it feel to be so close to making it into the Top 5? What is currently going through your mind?

sakira: It’s surreal. I didn’t expect Phenomenally to rise as quickly as it did. I keep thinking about how I need to finish writing Phenomenally, but IB exams are coming up in May. Fortunately, summer break comes after exams, and I’ll have plenty of time to write then! I’ll be writing, writing, writing, until I finish the book. After that, I’ll be tweaking the story until it’s something that I can (hopefully) call worthy of being in the top five.

Phenomenally is very unique in that it deals with two separate worlds – that of the human, and that of the paranormal – and features a romance of sorts between a human and a paranormal entity. Do you feel that this originality on your part is one of the things that has made Phenomenally such a popular project on Inkpop?

sakira: I believe that one factor in its popularity is the ghost aspect. Many inkies found it intriguing, especially since they don’t know how the romance will develop. Lee has definitely been a popular character. (There’s a Team Lee- not part of a love triangle! -lurking around inkpop.).

Can you tell us a bit about the creative process for Phenomenally?

sakira: Initially, Phenomenally began as a true ghost story, a guy meets girl who can see him when a chance accident that separates him from his body. Only, she has a ghostly companion named Lee, and he doesn’t like the new kid getting close to her. That lasted about a couple seconds.

I didn’t want my main character to be your ordinary psychic, so I added other paranormal elements, including various paranormal entities (with twists on traditional myths) and a set of rules governing the paranormal world. I’ll still be including the original scene somewhere in the book since I love it so much, but it won’t be for a while the way the plot is moving.

Almost all of your projects feature paranormal / romance elements. Would you say that these are your favorite genres to write? Why? Is there any genre that you have yet to try, but would like to in the future – if so, what?

sakira: It is definitely my favorite genre, the reason being the possibilities. We all want to escape from something in our lives. We want that magical touch, excitement, and I believe that’s why paranormal is so big right now. It’s perfect for exploring the forbidden romance that’s so popular in literature and for giving the ordinary girl the chance to become something more.

Actually, I’m in the process of writing a sci-fi/fantasy story with my brother, which we hope to have him post on inkpop around the first of July and finish over the summer. The story explores the concept of the man’s fall in a futuristic setting, big government, rebel groups, and the question of “who is in the right?”

How do you combat writer’s block? Do you have any tips for beating out writer’s block that you’d like to share with us?

sakira: Get a steady writing schedule. Even when I don’t feel like writing, I’ll try and get something down. I’ve actually written some pretty original scenes when I didn’t know where next to proceed. I wrote the first chapters of Phenomenally without knowing where they would take me. I only knew that I had some scenes in mind, and I was getting them down within a certain time frame!

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors, who would they be and why?

sakira: Kiersten White, because she has a sense of humor that great doesn’t begin to describe (and because Paranormalcy is pure awesomeness!). Jane Austen, because I want to meet the mastermind behind some of my favorite classics. L. M. Montgomery, because I’m in love with Anne, Emily, and all those fabulous characters of hers. Kelly Armstrong, because she writes beautifully (yes, I mean beautifully). And Sarah Dessen, master of the art of contemporary YA. It’ll be a very informal event, and we’ll eat bat cookies with milk for dessert because it’ll be a Halloween party, which means that everyone will be dressed in costumes. Yay!

What do you think makes good writing?

sakira: It captures the reader’s heart and attention. You also need an engaging character, one to whom the reader can relate and who can keep the plot moving. It doesn’t hurt to have a hot romantic interest, not necessarily in looks but at least in personality.

Who was your favorite childhood author and why?

sakira: When I was little, I loved the Animal Ark series by Ben M. Baglio. I’ve always been an animal lover, and I wanted to be a veterinarian when I was a little girl. My dreams have since changed, but I’ll always have an animal in my life.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Chocolate chip cookies or cupcakes? Chocolate chip cookies.
What’s on your iPod? I have songs ranging from Country to Classical to Chinese, Korean, anime music, and other random songs. To name a few favorites artists: Keith Urban, Lonestar, Sam Tsui, Emmanuel Moire, Wilson Phillips, 黃鶯鶯.
Favorite cartoon character? This is hard. I love so many. I’m going to go with Pikachu. Nobody can say no to Pikachu!
London or Paris? Paris.
Lucky number? 01.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

11 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: sakira”

  1. Jesse said

    Congratulations, Kris!
    You totally deserve being IOTW – and this was such a great interview!
    Can’t wait to see PHENOMENALLY in the top 5! 😀

  2. Taku said

    Aki-chan~!! Gratz on the interview! *hugs* Eheh, they ended up not using question 7 anyway, so we were worrying over nothing, lol. Naww, love your interview *hugs more* Love you in general, really :b
    Now I haz to skidaddle off (; Gratz again!! *throws confetti, streamers, and bits of Hershey’s Kisses into the air* Hehe, I’m “raining kisses” on you, LOL.
    Can’t wait for PHEN to be in top five 😀 (and for a whole lot of other stuff too, but I think I’ll stop babbling now)

  3. Lexie said

    YAY KRIS! 😀 Awesome interview. Chocolate chip cookies, yes. ❤
    Your dogs are adorable. @__@
    And I hope you realize you just solved a mystery for me. XD

  4. Lithiawood said

    Congrats! 😀

    DDR and French — you really are my kinda gal. 😛

  5. Zanna Rose said

    Congrats Kris!! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
