Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

Blogger Book Review: Emily the Strange: The Lost Days by Rob Reger and Jessica Gruner

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 28, 2011

Happy Saturday, inkpoppers! Today we have a strange treat for you…a review of Rob Reger and Jessica Gruner’s Emily the Strange: The Lost Days written by Mevurah of the blog The Heart of Dreams.

Of her blog Mevurah says, “The Heart of Dreams is a blog that focuses on my love for reading and books. Which is the meaning behind the name of this blog. Reading so many stories when I was a little girl, inspired me to want to be come a writer. Books and stories are the heart of that dream of mine.” Read more review from Mevurah at The Heart of Dreams. For now, tuck into the strange world of Emily the Strange: The Lost Days.

“I think there is only one word that could sum up this book: Strange. The first time that I heard of ‘Emily The Strange’ was during my sophomore year of High School. I noticed a couple of people at my school with stickers of Emily on their notebooks and binders. I thought she was a cool character. I then learned she was the logo of a clothing brand of the same name. Last year I found out that there were books about Emily! Of course I added them to my to-read list, hoping to stumble upon them some time in the near future.

“So imagine how surprised I got when I saw two ‘Emily The Strange books’ at the library! I was happy and excited to get a chance to read about the mysterious Emily! After reading this book, I must admit that it wasn’t what I expected it to be. It wasn’t a bad book but I thought it could have been a bit different. First off, I wasn’t expecting the diary format! Reading about Emily via first person was in fact a trip! My goodness, if there ever was a strange and interesting character, Emily is definitely one of them!

“In ‘The Lost Days’, the story begins with Emily trying to stay calm. She has just found herself sitting on a bench, with a few personal possessions next to her. To make things interesting, she can’t remember a single thing. Nothing! The only clues that she has to her identity is a journal that has a few pages ripped out. And so begins a weird and bizarre tale told by a 13 year old goth.

“The town where Emily stays as she tries to remember who she is was such a crazy place. The illustrations really brought the town and the various citizens of the place come to life. The black ink and blood red tone in the drawings against the glossy white pages were definitely eye popping. I would definitely recommend this book, if you’re in the mood for taking a bizarre getaway, Emily would definitely make the ultimate tour guide!”

Thank you to Mevurah of The Heart of Dreams for sharing her thoughts on Emily the Strange: The Lost Days with us.

Over to you…have you read Emily the Strange: The Lost Days? If so, what did you think of it? If not, will you be picking this book up during your next trip to the bookstore and/or library?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

One Response to “Blogger Book Review: Emily the Strange: The Lost Days by Rob Reger and Jessica Gruner”

  1. Lithiawood said

    While the book sounds interesting, the review….

    So. Many. Exclamation. Points.
    So. Not. Necessary.

    *claws eyes out*

Leave a Reply

 
