Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

Blogger Book Review: Illusions by Aprilynne Pike

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 29, 2011

Good morning, inkpoppers! Just a few weeks ago many of you chatted with author Aprilynne Pike during our inpop Live Chat; and now we bring you a review of the New York Times Bestselling author’s latest book Illusions straight from Mel of the blog He Followed Me Home…Can I Keep Him?.

Read more book reviews from Mel by visiting He Followed Me Home…Can I Keep Him? For now, prepare yourself to be entranced by Illusions.

“The third book in the ‘Wings’ series, ‘Illusions’ starts of with Laurel back at high school in the human world and surprise, surprise, Tamani shows up as a foreign exchange student! Spells made me Team Tamani, so I was so curious how this was was going to play out. Although I enjoyed this book, I have to admit that partway I was getting tired of the David/Tam love triangle…both boys pining over Laurel but her being ignorant to David’s jealousy issues. With what was happening, it is fair to say that David had reasons to feel this way so Laurel annoyed me. I can justify Tamani’s undying love as part of his nature but come on David! A majority of this book deals with Laurels conflict over David/Tamani.

“Ms. Pike rounds out this storyline with the possibility of danger from the other foreign exchange student, Yuki, the mysterious Klea and disappearing Trolls. Not much is finalized here but hints at what is to come next. The ending is a major cliffhanger and I think we will get back to more action next year in what is supposed to be the last book in the series. Seeing the fae world in ‘Spells’ captivated me, I am crossing my fingers we get to see more of that too!”

Thank you to Mel of He Followed Me Home…Can I Keep Him? for discussing Aprilynne Pike’s Illusions with us.

Over to you…have you read Illusions? If so, what did you think of it? If not, will you be picking this book up during your next trip to the bookstore and/or library?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

Leave a Reply

 
