Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: June 2, 2011

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on June 2, 2011

Jamie Campbell Bower is Shadowhunter Jace Wayland! Just last week we asked you who you thought the best person to play Shadowhunter Jace Wayland in the film adaptation of Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments opposite actress Lily Collins (cast as Clary Fray) was, and now there are no further doubts about the chosen one’s name. This past Tuesday – May 31, 2011 – it was announced that actor Jamie Campbell Bower, of Breaking Dawn and Camelot fame has been officially cast in the role. “The role is a mix of action and romance as Jamie’s character Jace is a…Nephilim (part human, part angel) who fights demons and romances Lily’s Clary Fray.” MTV.

Greek is the word! Author Rick Riordan re-introduced the idea of Greek Gods and Mythology to the literary world a few years back with his Percy Jackson series, but old-favorite Meg Cabot and newcomer Josephine Angelini have taken it upon themselves to take it one step further, drawing inspiration from the myths of yesteryear to create teen heroines of modern-day society. In Angelini’s debut Starcrossed, Homer’s Iliad is removed from an ancient era and placed smack dab in the middle of a small town American high school; whereas Cabot’s Abandon retells the tale of Persephone, with a cast of American teenage characters at the helm of it all. Both books are the first in projected trilogies. “America seems to be a good place for Greek gods these days. Chiron, the centaur who taught Hercules and countless demigod heroes of legend, explains the migration of the Greek pantheon like this in the first ‘Percy Jackson’ book: ‘The gods simply moved.… Like it or not — and believe me, plenty of people weren’t very fond of Rome, either — America is now the heart of the flame.’” LA Times.

Revealed! ‘The Hobbit’ release dates Though many rumors have been swirling regarding the release dates of both of Peter Jackson’s Hobbit films over the past few months, now comes word that the official release dates have finally been announced. According to Variety, the first film – The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – will make its way to theaters on December 14, 2011, and the sequel – The Hobbit: There and Back Again – will hit the big screen one year later – on December 13, 2013. “Jackson began shooting the two films in New Zealand in 3D in mid-March with a cast including Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins and Orlando Bloom, Andy Serkis, Elijah Wood, Hugo Weaving, Ian McKellen and Cate Blanchett reprising their roles from ‘The Lord of the Rings’ trilogy. Bloom joined the cast Friday to portray the elf Legolas.” GalleyCat.

Over to you…what do you think about Jamie Campbell Bower being cast as Shadowhunter Jace Wayland? Will you be seeing The Mortal Instruments when it hits theaters? What do you think of Greek mythology in YA fiction? Would you ever try your hand at retelling Greek mythology and/or using it as a basis for a new project – why or why not? Will you be seeing The Hobbit when it hits theaters in December of 2012?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

11 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: June 2, 2011”

  1. Nella said

    I love PJO! So much<3

    I'm a huge Meg Cabot fan, but I feel my expecations for Abandon were a little too high.

    Well, I've tried my hand it at twice, one in a story called Burning Togas, with Apollo and Calypso as the main characters.

    I do want to work a full length story about the reincarnation of gods.

  2. Ashley said

    WHAT!!!???!!! NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!! JAMIE FREAKING BOWER??? Nooooooo!!! He CANNOT play Jace!! Jace is supposed to be heroic and sexy and deep and dark and amazingly perfect, Jamie Bower screams “LOOK! Imma gay guy with long flowy hair that is not sexy at all and should not be Jace because I act very badly!!” I was hoping Jace would be someone that would actually be able to CARRY a movie!! Ughghhhghhghgghhghg I AM SO MAD RIGHT NOW!!!
    This movies gunna suck (just saying)
    First they hire LILLY COLLINS?? And now him
    Ughghhhgghghhhg I absolutely love the Mortal Instruments and let me tell you one thing, if they mess up this movie I’m never ever ever watching a movie from this production company again! And that’s a promise!! You probably don’t care but I DO!!!
    Ughghghghghghhghghghgghghghghhgghhghgghhgghhghghghghg
    XOXO
    Purpleskinnyjeans3

  3. theliving said

    NO. He’s not Jacey-poo. :c
    Movie = not as badass as I thought it would be! D;

  4. Eowyn said

    Hmm…I haven’t read Mortal Instruments, so I can’t say much on that count.

    Weirdly enough, yeah, I have a story based on a Greek Myth that is debuting to inkpop this weekend…if all goes well. It’s based on the story of Icarus and his dad, Daedalus. However, a great deal of it is about football too. How’s that for contrast?

    YAY!!! The HOBBIT!!! I’m so excited it’s coming out so soon. I thought it was in 2012…:D Oh…wait a sec, I think that’s a typo. 😡

    I was too young to see LOTR in theaters, so this is going to be my second chance. And yes of course I’ll be seeing it–and bringing a huge entourage of friends with me. 😀

    –Eowyn

  5. AJ said

    Oh, darn. I wanted Alex Pettyfer to be Jace. 😦 I love him.

  6. Courtney said

    Yes! If Alex Pettyfer didn’t get it I wanted Jamie! 😀 I’m so excited. He can kick some serious butt.

  7. Sana said

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THIS CANNOT HAPPEN!!!
    WHY ALEX PETTYFER?? WHY DIDN’T YOU JUST FREAKIN’ AGREE TO BE JACE???????
    i cant say much for Jamie….but NOOOOOOO!!!!!
    Lily and Jamie have no chemistry =(
    And, no offense but Jamie doesn’t have the bad boy appearance or….attractive….or anything else really.
    Oh well, this will just huant the production when no one comes to watch the movie *shrugs and pretends not to care even though is bawling*

    • AJ said

      I totally agree. I so *badly* wanted Alex Pettyfer. :3 Well, that’s probably because I’m madly in love with him, but still.

  8. Bri said

    I don’t know much about Jamie. But if Cassie herself agreed to it, then I say go. After all, she is the author–all the decisions made must be approved by her anyway.

  9. cassidy said

    RAGE
    I did not picture Jace ever looking like that. But if Cassandra herself picked him then nobody can really say anything about it since she created the characters in the first place.

  10. Kavodar said

    YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES! WOO HOO!
    They’re splitting the Hobbit into two movies! Booya! I was worried they were gonna have to cut things out, but nope!
    I LOVE THE HOBBIT!

Leave a Reply

 
